American love

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”-John Lennon

Happiness? I think it is simple to assume this is a goal for most of humanity. We find happiniess in different outlets of life whether it be through a family, a career or where I personally find it most: through the happiness of others. When people ask me the same question John Lennon’s teacher asked him my answer is similar. The older I grow, the more helping people becomes my career, my way of life, my goal. I want to help people. Currently I am studying Psychology in hopes of going to grad school for Drama Therapy, but if that plan does not unfold, I will find another way to help those around me.

We just elected a new president yesterday. In light of this I felt the urge to write to all of you and relay some advice. You clearly can take it with a grain of salt if you wish. I will not be offended if you call me a dreamer, an idealist, an optimist because I identify with all of those terms. I believe our county, in light of recent events needs to try something. Love: a word used in many contexts, a powerful word, a word that can inspire, a word we need right now as a country, as Americans. No matter your political opinions, right now is the time to respond to each other with love and respect. We need to start making an effort to be kind to all, help those less fortunate than oursleves and fight for equality for our fellow people. Love is important and in order to unite our country, it is necessary. You do not need to agree with every person and you will not share viewpoints with everyone, but we need to stop letting our hate block opportunities to help each other. I am fully aware of how idealistic this sounds, but for me at least, that does not make it less true. Love. Love everyone. We need each other now more than ever.

Leave a Reply

